So the Trimester 2 projects proved to be more difficult that I had anticipated.  The students spend more time trying to decide on their Robot/Alien/Shape and formatting then I had planned on.  It is a reminder to myself that  I may need to spend more time on the direct instruction of the logistical parts to allow more time for the creative and "FUN" part of the project.  Some students were so frustrated with the formatting that they just refused to continue.  Next time I will try and have them work in groups with more tech savvy students paired with students who are still getting to know how to navigate the computer world.  In addition, I won't give them as many choices for the unimportant parts of the project. In the end I learned a lot about my students.  They did not struggle with the academic parts of the project, that speaks volumes because if I were to simply ask them to give me adjectives, describe themselves, or to write about the project using the art and technology terms we learned,  I would have been met with serious resistance.  Instead they were able to demonstrate their understanding of the standards we were addressing. 



Leave a Reply.